Architecture in the village
Bonnieux was a papal town for five centuries, and the prosperity this brought is evidenced in the fine stone residences still standing, dating as far back as the 16th century. The ‘old church’ of course is even older, dating from the 12th and 15th centuries, and there are remains of the 13th century ramparts.
The town hall, known as the Hôtel de Rouville, is a beautiful 18th century residence, and the so-called ‘new church’ is actually fairly established (having been built in 1870!) and is an attractive building of light-coloured stone with a rose window and a pretty spire.