A little history
The village’s inhabitants are known as Fraxinois, reminiscent of the Moorish settlement known as Fraxinet that was here between the 9th and 10th centuries. The original settlement was on the hilltop where the archaeological site of ‘Fort Freinet’ is sited. From the end of the 14th century, the population starting leaving the Fort to settle in the La Garde pass, which was easier to access. The new small town was called La Garde-Freinet. The village grew hugely in the 19th century due to the cork industry.
Whilst wandering around the village, look out for the church, which dates back to 1789, and the one remaining flour mill of the five that used to exist here. Also the old wash house and the fountain dating from 1812. There are two museums to visit: ‘Musée de la Colombophilie’ (carrier pigeon museum) and the ‘Conservatoire du Patrimoine du Freinet’ (Folk Museum).